

**For Immediate Release:** December 12, 2013 **Contact:** Al Carbone (203) 671-4421 Follow us on Twitter @WalterCampFF

# Walter Camp 2013 All-America Notebook

## A Little History

This is the 124<sup>th</sup> edition of the Walter Camp All-America team – the nation's oldest All-America team. Twenty-six players have been selected to the first team by the 125 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors. In addition, 26 players have been selected to the Second Team.

- From 1889 to 1964, eleven players were selected.
- In 1965, both offensive and defensive teams were picked.
- In 1972, the first punter (Ray Guy, Southern Mississippi) was honored.
- In 1975, the first placekicker (Chris Bahr, Penn State) was selected.
- In 1998, the first-ever Second Team All-America team was recognized.
- In 2001, the first kick returner (Herb Haygood, Michigan State) was picked.

#### **Conference Info**

Nineteen different schools representing six conferences have players on the 2013 Walter Camp All-America First Team. The Big 12 Conference had seven players representing six member schools selected to the first team, the highest total of any league. The SEC and Pac-12 were next with six players each. Alabama and Stanford each had the most first-team selections with three. It is fourth time in the last five years that the Crimson Tide had the most First Team selections.

#### Then and Now

Nineteen different schools are represented on the 2012 Walter Camp All-America First Team – the 124<sup>th</sup> honored in the name of the former Yale University football legend. Of those 19 schools, Pittsburgh has the honor of being the first represented on a Walter Camp All-America team. Panthers center Robert Peck made the 1915 All-America squad.

#### **Good to See You Again**

Two players – running back Ka'Deem Carey (Arizona) and linebacker C.J. Mosley (Alabama) – are repeat First Team All-Americans. Two additional players – offensive lineman Jake Matthews (Texas A&M) and defensive back Jason Verrett (TCU) – were Second Team honorees in 2012. Lastly, Second Team All-Americans Taylor Lewan (Michigan) and defensive end Jadeveon Clowney (South Carolina) were First Team selections last year.

## Player of the Year Jameis Winston

The 47th recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, Florida State redshirt freshman quarterback Jameis Winston is the second FSU player to earn the honor – Charlie Ward won the award in 1993. Winston, who earned Second Team All-America honors, is the second Player of the Year to be on the Second Team (Nebraska's Eric Crouch, 2011)

## **Class Distinction**

Of the 26 First Team selections, 17 are seniors. There are six juniors, one sophomore and two freshmen. On the Second Team, there are 11 seniors, nine juniors, four sophomores and two freshman (QB Jameis Winston of Florida State and KR DeVon Edwards of Duke)

#### Fresh(men) Face

Placekicker Roberto Aguayo (Florida State) and punter Austin Rehkow (Idaho) are the seventh and eighth freshmen to earn Walter Camp First Team All-America honors. Johnny Manziel (QB, Texas A&M – 2012), Tyler Lockett (KR, Kansas State – 2011), Michael Crabtree (WR, Texas Tech - 2007), Adrian Peterson (RB, Oklahoma - 2004), Dre Bly (DB, North Carolina – 1997) and Herschel Walker (RB, Georgia – 1980) have also been recognized during their first collegiate seasons.

## O-Line U?

Gabe Ikard is the 14<sup>th</sup> offensive linemen from the University of Oklahoma since 1964 to earn Walter Camp All-America honors.

### **Streaks**

Texas A&M and Florida State have had at least one Walter Camp First Team All-American in each of the last four years. It is the longest current streak. The all-time streak record belongs to Notre Dame (18 straight years, 1964 to 1981). After not having an All-American from 1999-2009, Texas A&M has had seven in the last four years.

#### **Remember When?**

In the illustrious history of Alabama football, AJ McCarron is just the second Crimson Tide quarterback to earn Walter Camp All-American honors. In 1935, Riley Smith was named to the Walter Camp All-American team after leading the Crimson Tide to the Rose Bowl.

#### Good to See you C.J.

Linebacker C.J. Mosley is Alabama's fifth repeat Walter Camp All-American since 1960 and the second straight honoree (center Barrett Jones, 2011-12).

#### **Carey's Back**

Running back Ka'Deem Carey is the second Arizona player to repeat as a Walter Camp All-American joining former Wildcat linebacker (and 2010 Walter Camp Alumnus of the Year) Tedy Bruschi (1994-95).

## More Carey

Ka'Deem Carey is the 19<sup>th</sup> running back – and the fourth from the Pac-12 Conference - to repeat as a Walter Camp All-American. Herschel Walker (Georgia) is the only three-time recipient (1980-81-82).

## Pittsburgh Defense

Defensive tackle Aaron Donald is the first Pittsburgh defensive player to earn Walter Camp All-American honors since three-time honoree Hugh Green (1978-79-80).

## **Dennard is first Sparty DB**

Darqueze Dennard is the first Michigan State defensive back in 41 years (Brad Van Pelt, 1972) to earn Walter Camp All-America honors.

## Mizzou Magic

Defensive end Michael Sam is the first Missouri defensive player since 1968 (DB Roger Wehrli) to earn Walter Camp All-America honors.

## The Cardinal Trio

Three players from Stanford earned Walter Camp First Team All-America honors – LB Trent Murphy, OL David Yankey and KR Ty Montgomery. It is the second time in the last three seasons the Cardinal boasted three First Team All-Americans. In the last five years, Stanford has had eight First Team All-Americans.

### **Players of the Week**

Each week during the regular-season, the Walter Camp Foundation recognizes a National Offensive and Defensive Player of the Week. Nine First and Second All-American members were recognized during the 2013 regular season.

First Team All-Americans recognized included: UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr (Sept. 15), Florida State defensive back Lamarcus Joyner (Oct. 20), Boston College running back Andre Williams (Nov. 17) and Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald (Nov. 24).

Second Team honorees included: Virginia defensive back Anthony Harris (Sept. 1), Michigan State defensive end Shilique Calhoun (Sept. 8), Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston (Oct. 6), Duke defensive back/kick returner DeVon Edwards (Nov. 10), and Colorado State running back Kapri Bibbs (Nov. 10).

www.waltercamp.org